Diet

The Gluten-Free Diet: Everything You Need To Know

Gluten, free diet
Written by admin

The first thing you have to know is what gluten is. It is a glycoprotein, present in many types of cereals, which acts, among other things, as an agglutinant, that is, to give consistency to the ingredients. It works as a structuring element, by joining those elements. Therefore, it is widely used in pastry and bakery.

Gluten-containing cereals include wheat, rye, barley, spelled, spelled, triticale, farro, Kamut, green spelled, bulgur, and oats. we tell you the ingredients that a gluten-free diet can include.

Gluten Sensitivity: Celiac Person

A celiac person is one who has a permanent intolerance to the gluten in wheat, barley, rye, and probably oats.
When something that contains gluten is ingested, an inflammatory reaction occurs in the mucosa of the small intestine that makes it difficult to absorb macro and micronutrients. Therefore, a person with celiac disease has to eat a gluten-free diet.

However, there are also people who, without being intolerant to gluten, cannot eat it. These people have a non-celiac gluten sensitivity and their situation usually improves when they start a gluten-free diet.

Lastly, there is another reason why you can adopt a gluten-free diet. It’s about wheat allergy.

The Gluten-Free Diet: Allowed Foods

The first thing you have to know is that this type of diet is not recommended if you want to lose weight, that is, only for this reason and not because of the intolerances already indicated. Doctors do not recommend following this type of diet for that purpose.

Dairy Products:

As for dairy products and their derivatives, the following are allowed:
soy drinks (containing only soybeans, soybeans, water, and salt), curd, cottage cheese, milk (even those with calcium, phosphorus, fluoride, mineral salts, omega 3, royal jelly), fermented milk without aromas, flavors and fruits, cream for pastries, fresh cheeses, with or without lactose, whole, wedges, tender, cured, semi-cured, natural or Greek yogurts. For children, infants, follow-on, and growth milk.

Appetizers, olives:

Appetizers, olives with and without Pipo and stuffed with anchovy or pepper, pickles, capers, pickled chives are allowed. The potato snacks can also be done, but without aromas or flavors (potato ingredients, oil, and salt), popcorn with the same ingredients (oil and salt), raw nuts, licorice stick, hard candies with or without sugar.

Cereals, the following are allowed:

Cereals, the following are allowed: rice, corn, quinoa, amaranth, millet, sorghum, cassava, buckwheat or buckwheat and unmilled.

On sausages:

On sausages and meat products, it is allowed: meat and offal, jerky and bacon, extra quality cooked ham, cured ham, and shoulder, fresh, cured, and cured bacon and shoulder.

Fruits:

Fruits and derivatives can be eaten: fresh fruits, preserved fruits (in syrup and compote), candied and glazed fruits, dried (raisins, plums, apricots, dates), jams, jams, and sweet creams.

Eggs:

The fresh eggs, powdered, dehydrated, and liquids may also be consumed.

Legumes must be dry:

Legumes must be dry (beans, chickpeas, lentils, soybeans, etc.), cooked or canned precooked to natural. You always have to check that there are no wheat grains.

About fish:

About fish: canned fish or seafood in natural, in oil, with lemon or garlic), salads or salads without cooking, smoked fresh fish (salmon, trout, cod), fresh fish, and shellfish, cooked, frozen without coating, salted and dried.

Other Allowed Foods

Mashed potato flakes and instant purees (without flavorings or additions) and dehydrated soups are allowed.

Oil of all types, animal fats (lard, tallow, bacon), butter, and margarine without fiber.

Sugars, you can consume syrups, white, brown and vanilla sugar, sweeteners, fructose and glucose, honey, cane syrup, and molasses.

Pure cocoa, sugary powder, and pure powder, cocoa mass, are also allowed.

Regarding spices and condiments: natural colorants and aromas, branch, thread, and grain (for example saffron, cinnamon stick, turmeric, etc). Spices and natural herbs in the branch, thread, grain, ground, or dehydrated (pepper, parsley, cinnamon, nutmeg, oregano, etc). The ground always packaged, not in bulk. Salt and apple cider vinegar, Modena, cider, and wine.

The Drinks:

Finally, the drinks: coffees of all kinds, infusions of natural herbs, without aromas. Soda, fruit juices, musts, soft drinks, including tea. Regarding alcoholic beverages: wines and sparkling wines, whiskey and vodka, tequila, rum, gin and pacharán, brandy and cognac, anise, and brandy.

Therefore, as a summary, it can be said that there are many foods that in their natural state are gluten-free. Those foods are meat, fish, fruits, vegetables, eggs, legumes, vegetables, milk, potatoes … They do not have to be treated at an industrial level.

There are also products that when they have been made have been able to be mixed with other ingredients with gluten. Therefore, you must always look at the labeling, because if it says that “it may contain gluten” or “traces of gluten”, it is better not to consume them.

If you have gluten sensitivity this site will be very useful for you: Going Gluten-Free One Step At a Time

 

If you like this content, please share it with your friends
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •  
  •  

About the author

admin

Leave a Comment